2015 Annual Meeting Elects New Board Members, Awards Outstanding Volunteers

Dan M and John S Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Mass. / Metrowest held its Annual Meeting last week at Hanover Insurance Group.  The Annual Meeting was attended by 75+ dedicated supporters, Alumni, staff, Board Members, Corporators and guests.  Attendees were treated to a cocktail hour and appetizers presented by Hanover Insurance Group before the meeting.

“I am thrilled that many of our friends and supporters came to our Annual Meeting event,” said Jeffrey Chin, CEO of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Mass/Metrowest.   “It was a great way for us to come together as an organization to review our past year’s accomplishments, as well as unveil what are sure to be exciting plans for the year ahead.”

Tim Garvin, CEO of United Way of Central Mass., was the keynote speaker.  Mr. Garvin spoke about the value of mentoring and the powerful impact it has on the Central Massachusetts community.

Dan Mastrototaro of Jefferson, MA presided over the meeting. He is currently serving his first term as Chair of the agency’s Board of Directors.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Mass/Metrowest also elected its slate of Officers for its Board of Directors for 2015. The new Officers for the agency, and their affiliations, are as follows:

  1. Board Chair: Dan Mastrototaro, of Jefferson – Mr. Mastrototaro is a Vice President at Hanover Insurance Group.
  2. Vice Chair: Chris Lucas, of Upton – Mr. Lucas is an executive at Netscout, Inc.
  3. Immediate Past Chair: Kelly Fitzgerald, of Shrewsbury – Ms. Fitzgerald is an executive for Bank of America
  4. Treasurer: Roy Angel, of Sterling – Mr. Angel is Vice President at MassDevelopment
  5. Secretary: Tucker Dulong, of Marlborough – Mr. Dulong is an Attorney for Catic

The agency also elected four new members to its Board of Directors: Tom O’Neill, Jonathan Ryan, Margaret Sullivan and Bill Sullivan, Jr.  A short biography of each new member is included below.

Tom O'neillTom O’Neill is a resident of Jefferson MA and is employed by The Hanover Insurance Group as a Director of Risk Solutions.  Mr. O’Neill has more than two decades of operational and management experience in youth services and the treatment of children with aggressive/reactive behaviors, learning disabilities and mental health diagnosis.

Jon RyanJonathan Ryan is a resident of Westborough MA and serves as The Director, Marketing Technology, for the Aberdeen Group, a Harte Hanks Company.  Mr. Ryan is involved in the community through his work with many nonprofits, including Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Mass/Metrowest, Inc. where he serves as a volunteer Big Brother. Mr. Ryan also volunteers for organizations and causes including VolunteerMatch, Pray for Matt Brown #3, Kiva, Walk for Hunger and Westborough Youth Lacrosse.

Margaret SullivanMargaret Sullivan is a resident of Hudson MA and is the Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of Avidia Bank.  Ms. Sullivan has been with Avidia Bank for 19 years.  In addition to being an active Big Sister, Ms. Sullivan supports many local nonprofit agencies and mission-driven causes, including Relay for Life, Meals on Wheels, The ADA Committee of Hudson and various within the Hudson School district.

William C. SullivanBill Sullivan, Jr. is a Worcester native.  He joined the Sullivan Group in 1989 and is currently a vice president and principal at the firm.  Mr. Sullivan brings over 26 years of experience in Casualty Insurance with particular interest in nonprofits and their insurance needs to BBBS of CM/MW.  He is active in civic organizations including the YMCA of Central Massachusetts, where he is a current Board Member and Chairman of the Properties Committee, and the Worcester Economic Club.

Additionally, the event featured two award presentations to members of the organization for outstanding achievements and contributions to the agency.

The Colleen O’Brien Memorial Award is given annually to a Board Member who exceeded expectations in their contributions to the agency. It is named in honor of Colleen O’Brien, who passed away six years ago after serving on the Big Brothers Big Sisters ofRoy Angel plaque Central Mass/Metrowest Board of Directors. This year’s recipient is Roy Angel, the Board’s Treasurer. Mr. Angel exemplified the giving spirit and determined passion exhibited by Colleen O’Brien, including raising thousands of dollars for the agency and providing key leadership during the agency’s recent history.

RJ and LS BrigitaThe Dr. H. Martin Deranian Fellowship Award is given annually to a Big Brother or Big Sister who exceeded expectations in their contributions to their mentee and to the agency. It is named in honor of Dr. H. Martin Deranian, the agency’s (and nation’s) longest serving Big Brother (50 years+). Dr. Deranian, who lives in Shrewsbury and still practices in Worcester, has been involved with the agency for over fifty years. This year’s Deranian Award recipient is Rebecca Joseph, of Worcester. Rebecca has been matched with her Little Sister Brigita since 2012.

More pictures from the event can be seen here. Congrats to all!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s